Complete an application. The application form is available from your local chief of police or sheriff, or by contacting the BCI. Contact information for the North Dakota Police Departments and Sheriff's Departments is available at ND POST Board.
All applicants must successfully complete a written test, administered by a person certified by the Attorney General. In addition, applicants for a Class 1 permit also must complete both classroom instruction and proficiency testing.
Following successful completion of all testing requirements, the permit applicant must submit the following to his/her local law enforcement agency: the application, two color photos (size 1" X 1¼") and a check for $45 made payable to the ND Office of Attorney General. The applicant’s fingerprints are taken at the local law enforcement agency.
The local law enforcement agency will review the application, conduct a local background check, determine the applicant's eligibility for the permit, and forward that information and the fingerprints to the BCI.
The BCI performs state and national background checks on each applicant. Additionally, each applicant's fingerprints are searched through the regional Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS).
Applicants must provide all documentation relating to any court-ordered treatment or commitment for mental health or alcohol or substance abuse, or incidents of domestic violence and shall complete and return the authorization for release of medical records included in the application packet.
Upon approval by the director of the BCI, the applicant is issued a permit that is valid for a period of three years.
North Dakota Permits for Nonresidents
Nonresidents of North Dakota can apply for a North Dakota Concealed Weapon Permit. Contact the BCI at (701) 328-5500 for an application and information regarding certified instructors.
Follow the instructions above for obtaining the permit.
Minimum Age to Apply for a Permit
Eighteen (18) for Class 2 permit;
Twenty-one (21) for Class 1 permit.
Testing Requirements, Fees, and Test Administrator Information
Only test administrators certified by the Attorney General may conduct testing. Many law enforcement agencies throughout North Dakota have officers who can conduct the tests. A list of certified test administrators is posted on this page, or you can contact your local law enforcement agency for information on test administrators in your area.
All testing and classroom instruction must be completed within the State of North Dakota. The maximum fee a test administrator may charge is fifty dollars ($50).
An applicant for a Class 1 permit must successfully complete classroom instruction and an open book test based on the Concealed Weapon Permit Manual, show familiarity with the firearm or dangerous weapon, and complete an actual shooting or proficiency exercise. An applicant for a Class 2 permit is required to complete the open book test offered for the Class 1 permit.
Where to Get a Personal Photo
Any business that takes passport photos will be able to take the photos for you.
Some law enforcement agencies may also take the photos for you.
Polaroid photos may work, but please keep in mind that the photos must contain a head and shoulders shot that is 1" X 1¼.
Permit Renewal Process
Prior to expiration, a reminder card notifying the permit holder of the need to renew is mailed to the last known address provided to BCI.
The renewal process may be started no earlier than 90 days prior to the permit expiration date and no later than 90 days after the permit expiration date.
The standard application form is used for renewals. The renewal box at the top of the application should be checked.
Approval for renewal must be obtained from the sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence and, if applicable, the chief of police of the applicant’s city of residence.
Repeating the written test is not required for timely renewals of a Class 2 permit. To renew a Class 1 permit, the applicant must have completed the requirements for a Class 1 permit within one year before submitting the application for renewal.
Submission of fingerprints is not required for timely renewals.
All license renewal applications require submission of two 1" X 1¼" color photos and a check for $45 made payable to the Office of Attorney General.
If the renewal process for a Class 2 permit is not started within the designated period (90 days prior to expiration and up to 90 days after expiration), the individual must begin as a new applicant and complete all testing and permit requirements.
Reasons a Permit Might be Denied
Any material misstatement made in the application process by the applicant.
The applicant is prohibited by state or federal law from owning, possessing, or having a firearm under that person's control.
Failure to disclose information on the application or to provide a release of records.
For any other good and valid cause as determined by the Chief Agent of the Bureau of Criminal Investigation and subject to review. (This section will not be used arbitrarily to deny or revoke a permit.)
If There is a Change in the Permit Holder's Address
An updated permit will be issued at the permit holder's request. The following information should be provided in writing to the BCI:
A leader in the Minnesota Permit to Carry and Renewal/Concealed Carry, Iowa Permit to Carry/Concealed Carry, Florida Permit to Carry/Concealed Carry, Wisconsin Permit to Carry /Concealed Carry, Arizona Permit to Carry/Concealed Carry and Utah Permit to Carry/Concealed Carry Training!
Training Locations: Minot, Williston, Bismarck, Fargo and Grand Forks, North Dakota.
Black Hawk County, Des Moines, Grundy County, Mason City, Osage, Reinbeck County, Waterloo-Cedar Falls, West Des Moines and Rudd, Iowa
Prairie du Chien, Sun Prairie, Richfield, Eau Claire and Duluth (Superior), LaCrosse, Wisconsin
Baudette, Bemidji, Blaine, Brainerd/Baxter, Burnsville, Crookston, Duluth, East Grand Forks, Elk River, Littlefork (International Falls), Long Prairie, Mankato, Menahga (Park Rapids), Minneapolis/St. Paul, Monticello, Nowthen, Owatonna, Rochester, Rogers, Roseau, St. Cloud and Wadena, Minnesota.
Conveniently located in Rogers, Owatonna, Blaine, Woodbury, Burnsville and other announced locations for the students in the Minneapolis & St. Paul (Twin Cities), MN area.
Mitchell, Watertown and Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Now offering the Air Force Special in Minot, ND & Grand Forks, ND
Cabela's Stores: East Grand Forks, Owatonna, Prairie du Chien, Sun Prairie, Richland, Woodbury and Rogers Sheels Stores: Fargo, St. Cloud, West Des Moines, Mankato, Sioux Falls, Rochester, Bismarck, Grand Forks, Eau Claire and Minot
Trainers Rusty Ramirez Laura Ramirez Denny Bure Lisa Murphy Tom Ramirez John Johnson Laura Johnson Adam Breakell Lucinda Peterson Rose Krats Todd Tharaldson Rose Tharaldson Steve Lonn Terry Allen Joe Johnson JC Johnson Tony Ramirez
Minnesota Permit to Carry/Renewal Minnesota Permit to Carry Minnesota Permit to Carry Minnesota Permit to Carry Renewal
Utah Permit to Carry Utah Permit to Carry Utah Permit to Carry
Arizona Permit to Carry Arizona Permit to Carry Arizona Permit to Carry
Iowa Permit to Carry Iowa Permit to Carry Iowa Permit to Carry
Florida Permit to Carry Florida Permit to Carry Florida Permit to Carry
Wisconsin Permit to Carry Wisconsin Permit to Carry Wisconsin Permit to Carry
Illinois Permit to Carry Illinois Permit to Carry Illinois Permit to Carry